1974 TR6, Viewed 10/13/2014

1974 TR6

If you see the date above, you’ll appreciate that this is out of sequence – I viewed this car last October… Still, I took notes on it and was reminded of it when I saw it on an online search this past week. I’d seen this car online and based upon the asking price, assumed that it must be in good nick. This was at a dealership and was the first car that I viewed that wasn’t a private sale. I arrived at the dealership but couldn’t see it in the showroom or the lot, and eventually was approached by an older gentleman who informed me that it was in their warehouse. We hopped in his car and drove a minute or two before pulling up outside an old, rough looking metal-clad building. Inside, there were about 40 cars in various states of repair and disrepair distributed along the left wall. Midway down was the car that I had come to see.

I know that this is a matter of personal taste, but I couldn’t say that I thought much of the colour – the shade is, I think, called “Mimosa yellow”, and its hue is that of darkish dijon mustard. The car didn’t present well, its overall appearance being dusty and grimy. The car had been painted in the past, as the back end of the car (see sketch) was yellow – and from the factory they came semi-flat black. It was also missing the TR6 sticker just in front of the tail-lights. All in all, the car was in generally good, if tired, condition, but there were some odd elements to it.

The stance of the car was strange and it took me a little while to figure out what it was – I suspect that the tyres were not the correct size, as they didn’t fill up the wheel wells as they should. The ad had not mentioned that this car was an overdrive, but there was a badge on the tail that said it was – curiously, though, there was no overdrive switch in the car. The salesman confirmed that, in spite of the badge claiming otherwise, this was a non-overdrive car. The paint looked like an older, good quality paint job, but it was chipped and small blooms of rust were appearing through the paint in the joints. This was more noticeable in the trunk and the engine bay (and the engine bay was in the proper colour – not black).

The interior was much the same as the exterior, decent, but tired. There was nothing really wrong, but the rear windows and the instrument glass were a little “cloudy”, the carpets were rucked and curling at the edges, the seats were worn, but achieved a nice “patina”. For much of the time that I had been poking around the car, the salesman had been trying without much success to find a key that would start the car. Ultimately he was unsuccessful. It didn’t much matter to me by this point – the asking price for this car was just shy of $16,000, and , given the overall “tatty” appearance of the car, I couldn’t see myself spending that much. This car will need the surface rust dealt with and who knows how much rust exists underneath? The paint and bodywork for this car would run easily to $5 or $6K if it is to be done “right” and by that time you’re into $21+K with an interior that still needs some work and, no doubt, at least a little mechanical fettling.

So, we drove back to the dealership in silence. I think the salesman was a little miffed that he’d not been able to find the correct keys, and I was paying attention to one of my Mother’s maxims; “If you don’t have anything nice to say, don’t say anything at all…”   🙂

Leave a Reply

